My T.V. Tells Me I’m Not Spending Enough Time On My Appearance

I don’t usually watch T.V., but when I do, I mainly see advertisements promoting women’s beauty products.

Make-up, shampoos and conditioners, lotions, creams, moisturizers, wax products, hair products, clothes, shoes, accessories.  Maybelline, Covergirl, Revlon, L’Oreal, Pantene Pro-V, Garnier, Aussie, Dove. Then you get all the clothing brands/stores and Kay Jeweler’s and Jared’s. And then you get the occasional Gillette ad.

The other day, I was watching an ad promoting a brand of mascara, claiming that it lengthened eyelashes to twice or three times its original size. That’s when I realized that the amount of time I worry about the size of my eyelashes is, well, never.

Comparing women to cats is a step up from comparing them to objects. Who says cat-ladies aren’t sexy?

One thought on “My T.V. Tells Me I’m Not Spending Enough Time On My Appearance

  1. Pingback: Reverse Sexism vs. Things That Just Suck | Women's Comedy

Leave a Reply

