Rethinking ‘The Devil Wears Prada’

Loved this post, so I wanted to re-blog.

Media Navigatrix

[Obvious spoilers if you have yet to see the movie. (I am basing none of these opinions based upon the book.)]

Image

I love this movie. I love the casting, the acting, the cinematography, the costumes, the music, the writing, etc… However, I watched it again last night and saw it in a new and troubling light. My boyfriend was in and out of watching it with me and made a few comments that I found surprising. Mostly because I was proud of him for saying them, but also surprised that I agreed with him because I had not thought of the messages in the movie quite that way before. Let me explain…

His comment: Andrea’s boyfriend completely overreacts, and her friends treat her like crap, yet she is the one who apologizes at the end.

Why I agree: I never got the sense that she changed as a person, which is…

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

